Damn Right I Am Somebody by Fred Wesley And The J.B.'s


Damn Right I Am Somebody by Fred Wesley And The J.B.'s


Condition: NewLabel: Get On Down ‎(GET54069-LP)

Format: Vinyl, LP, Album, Limited Edition, Reissue, 150 Gram, White Vinyl, Bonus 7" Flexi-Disc

Country: US

Released: 2014Genre: Funk, SoulStyle: Funk

Add To Cart

Damn Right I Am Somebody captures the J.B.'s at the apex of their extraordinary powers. This James Brown-produced set is both their most fiercely polemical and their most musically daring, incorporating otherworldly electronic elements, eccentric time and rhythm shifts, and idiosyncratic studio effects to brilliantly articulate the increasing turmoil and insanity of the times. It's quite possibly the most challenging record ever released under the Brown aegis, favoring open-ended grooves and epic solos rooted in avant-jazz. The rhythms remain surgically precise and hypnotically intense, however, and every cut here, from the funk juggernaut "I'm Payin' Taxes, What Am I Buyin'?" to the righteously mellow "Same Beat," is a marvel. This is funk at its heaviest -- musically, yes, but intellectually as well.


A1 Damn Right I'm Somebody 6:00

A2 Blow Your Head 4:43

A3 Im Payin' Taxes, What Am I Buyin'? 9:28

B1 Same Beat (Part 1) 3:30

B2 If You Don't Get It The First Time, Back Up & Try It Again, Parrty 3:36

B3 Make Me What You Want Me To Be 3:34

B4 Going To Get A Thrill 6:00

B5 You Sure Love To Ball 4:13

C Blow Your Head (2000 Undubbed Version)