Jay Deelicious: The Delicious Vinyl Years 95-98 by Jay Dee

sold out

Jay Deelicious: The Delicious Vinyl Years 95-98 by Jay Dee


Condition: New

Label: Delicious Vinyl ‎(DV 9033)

Format: 3 × Vinyl, LP, Compilation 

Country: US

Released: 2007

Genre: Hip Hop

Style: Instrumental

Add To Cart

Jay Dee, aka J Dilla, emerged as a Hip Hop producer to be reckoned with in 1995 when his name was attached to the first single from The Pharcyde's eagerly anticipated sophomore album "Labcabincalifornia". Drop the needle on his first Pharcyde production "Runnin" and you have the launch point of a producer's career that mesmerized, titillated and expanded the domes of Hip Hop fans for the next decade. "Jay Deelicious: Originals, Remixes & Rarities" documents Jay Dilla's early production on Delicious Vinyl.

Working closely with The Pharcyde and Michael "Mike Floss" Ross, (Delicious Vinyl's founder), Jay Dee was instrumental in keeping The Pharcyde's second album as ear poppin' and bugged as their maiden classic "Bizarre Ride To The Pharcyde", stepping up big time after the group parted ways with "Bizarre" producer J-Swift. In addition to original productions and remixes for "Labcabin", Jay Dee skillfully worked with the label on incredible mixes for the Brand New Heavies, as well as unreleased remixes for former BNH singer, N'Dea Davenport. From the jazzed out Rhodes syncopation of "Sometimes" featuring Q-Tip, to the crazy cutting up of "Got To Give It Up" for "Saturday Night" featuring Mos Def, Jay Dee shows there's no tempo he can't freak on some otherworldly jazzed up funk tip. So put on your head phones and take a trip into the early work of a Hip Hop master. Umm Umm JayDEElicous! In respect to Dilla's legacy, all proceeds from the sale of this release will go to Maureen (Ma Dukes) Yancy.


A1 Runnin' by The Pharcyde

A2 Sometimes (Remix) [Featuring Q-Tip] by The Brand New Heavies

A3 Somethin' That Means Somethin' by The Pharcyde

A4 She Said (Remix) by The Pharcyde

B1 Whatever You Want (Remix) by N'Dea Davenport

B2 Drop by The Pharcyde

B3 Saturday Night (Remix) [Featuring Mos Def] by The Brand New Heavies

C1 Bullshit by The Pharcyde

C2 Y? (Remix) by The Pharcyde

C3 Bullshittin' (Remix) by N'Dea Davenport

C4 Splattitorium by The Pharcyde

D1 Runnin' (Instrumental) by The Pharcyde

D2 Sometimes (Remix Instrumental) by The Brand New Heavies

D3 Somethin' That Means Somethin' (Instrumental) by The Pharcyde

E1 She Said (Remix Instrumental) by The Pharcyde

E2 Drop (Instrumental) by The Pharcyde

E3 aturday Night (Remix Instrumental) by The Brand New Heavies

F1 Bullshit (Instrumental) by The Pharcyde

F2 Y? (Remix Instrumental) by The Pharcyde

F3 Bullshittin' (Remix Instrumental) by N'Dea Davenport