The Shining Instrumentals by J Dilla

sold out

The Shining Instrumentals by J Dilla


Condition: New

Label: BBE (BBEILP077)

Format: 2 × Vinyl, LP, Album, Reissue 

Country: UK

Released: 2016

Genre: Hip Hop

Style: Instrumental

Add To Cart

James "J Dilla / Jay Dee" Yancey leaves behind an impression on Hip Hop that will last the test of time. A bridge between Hip Hop's underground and mainstream, Dilla's contributions ranged from single handedly defining Detroit Hip Hop as a founding member of Slum Village to providing his production talents to Common, D'Angelo, Busta Rhymes, Erykah Badu, A Tribe Called Quest, The Pharcyde, The Roots, Janet Jackson and Macy Gray.

The Shining marked the reunion of J Dilla & BBE, who had released Welcome 2 Detroit, J Dilla's debut album. The Shining was near completion when J Dilla passed on February 10, 2006. In pursuance of his mother's plan that his musical legacy continue, The Shining was released on August, 22nd, 2006.

To add to that legacy, The Shining Instrumentals were released; allowing the listener to hear the intricate warmth of Dilla's beats completely untouched by MC vocals.


A1 Geek Down 1:42

A2 E=MC2 3:15

A3 Love Jones 1:00

B4 Love 3:14

B5 Baby 3:28

B6 So Far To Go 5:35

C7 Jungle Love 2:44

C8 Over The Breaks 2:13

C9 Body Movin' 2:16

D10 Dime Piece 3:21

D11 Love Movin' 3:35

D12 Won't Do 3:45